China claims 55 of UNESCO world heritages with elected new site

China's Archaeological Ruins of Liangzhu City were on Saturday inscribed on the UNESCO World Heritage List as a cultural site, bringing the total number of the Asian country's sites on the list to 55.

International delegates congratulated China on the world's recognition of the exceptional site as a concrete testimony of 5,000 years of Chinese civilization and its unique contribution to world civilization.

On Friday, China's Migratory Bird Sanctuaries along the Coast of the Yellow Sea-Bohai Gulf (Phase I) was also inscribed on the World Heritage List as a natural site.

The natural site is located in the Yellow Sea ecoregion, containing the world's largest continuous mudflat seashore.

Migratory Bird Sanctuaries along the Coast of the Yellow Sea-Bohai Gulf of China (Phase I), 2019
Archaeological Ruins of Liangzhu City, 2019
Imperial Palaces of the Ming and Qing dynasties in Beijing and Shenyang, 1987
Mausoleum of the First Qin Emperor, 1987
Mogao caves, 1987
Taishan Mountain, 1987
Peking Man site at Zhoukoudian, 1987
The Great Wall, 1987
Huangshan Mountain, 1990
Huanglong Scenic and Historic Interest Area, 1992
Jiuzhaigou Valley Scenic and Historic Interest Area, 1992
Wulingyuan Scenic and Historic Interest Area, 1992
Ancient Building Complex in the Wudang Mountains, 1994
Historic Ensemble of the Potala Palace, Lhasa, 1994
Mountain Resort and its outlying temples, Chengde, 1994
Temple and Cemetery of Confucius and the Kong Family Mansion in Qufu, 1994
Lushan National Park, 1996
Mount Emei Scenic Area, including Leshan Giant Buddha Scenic Area, 1996
Ancient City of Pingyao, 1997
Classical Gardens of Suzhou, 1997
Old Town of Lijiang, 1997
Summer Palace, an imperial garden in Beijing, 1998
Temple of Heaven: An imperial sacrificial altar in Beijing, 1998
Dazu Rock Carvings, 1999
Mount Wuyi, 1999
Ancient Villages in southern Anhui - Xidi and Hongcun, 2000
Imperial Tombs of the Ming and Qing dynasties, 2000
Longmen Grottoes, 2000
Mount Qingcheng and the Dujiangyan irrigation system, 2000
Yungang Grottoes, 2001
Three Parallel Rivers of Yunnan Protected Areas, 2003
Capital Cities and Tombs of the Ancient Koguryo Kingdom, 2004
Historic Centre of Macao, 2005
Sichuan Giant Panda Sanctuaries - Wolong, Mt Siguniang and Jiajin Mountains, 2006
Yin Xu, 2006
Kaiping Diaolou and Villages, 2007
South China Karst, 2007
Fujian Tulou, 2008
Mount Sanqingshan National Park, 2008
Mount Wutai, 2009
China Danxia, 2010
Historic Monuments of Dengfeng in the Center of Heaven and Earth, 2010
West Lake cultural landscape of Hangzhou, 2011
Chengjiang Fossil Site, 2012
Site of Xanadu, 2012
Cultural Landscape of Honghe Hani Rice Terraces, 2013
Xinjiang Tianshan, 2013
Silk Roads: the Routes Network of Chang'an-Tianshan Corridor, 2014
The Grand Canal, 2014
Tusi Sites, 2015
Hubei Shennongjia, 2016
Zuojiang Huashan Rock Art Cultural Landscape, 2016
Kulangsu, a Historic International Settlement, 2017
Qinghai Hoh Xil, 2017
Fanjing Mountain, 2018

Copyright 2018. All rights reserved. The content (including but not limited to text, photo, multimedia information, etc) published in this site belongs to China

Daily Information Co (CDIC). Without written authorization from CDIC, such content shall not be republished or used in any form. Note: Browsers with

1024*768 or higher resolution are suggested for this site.

License for publishing multimedia online 0108263 Registration Number: 10023870-7