Home >> Museums

Guangdong Provincial Museum

Updated: 2008-01-18 18:00:39

( )

Share on


Situated at the former site of Zhongshan University at the Wenming Road, the Guangdong Provincial Museum started construction in 1957 and opened to the public in 1959. It covers an area of 29,000 square meters. Lu Xun's Memorial Hall is also under its administration.

The Museum was devoted to the collection and study of historical relics in Guangdong, holding exhibitions in this respect to educate people. It boasts 124,000 pieces, among which over 300 pieces are of the national first grade. The most treasured are a Monkey King Ink-Slab of the Qing Dynasty (1644-1840) and white-glazed Sakyamuni Statuary of the Northern Song Dynasty (960-1127).

To the south of the exhibition building, there are three cannons which were used by the locals to fight against the British invaders during the Opium War. In the Museum, the Display of Ancient History of Guangdong exhibits 2,123 historical relics, detailing Guangdong's political, economic and cultural history, and the Display of Modern History of Guangdong, with 1,244 relics on exhibition, reflects its history from the Opium War to the revolution in the early 20th century, including the Hundred Days Reform started by Kang Youwei and Liang Qichao, Guangzhou Uprising and Wuchang Uprising during the 1911 Revolution, and several other uprisings led by Sun Yat-sen, etc.

The Museum has co-organized several temporary exhibitions with other museums in Hong Kong and Macao, including Pottery and Porcelain of Shiwan, Porcelains Unearthed in Tang Kiln of Guangdong, and so on.

The Museum has compiled and published more than 10 publications includingCollection of Paintings of Guangdong Provincial Museum,Collection of Pictures in Modern Guangdong, andWest Sand Relics, in addition to a large number of special reports and theses.

Hot words
Most Popular