UNESCO, the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization, was founded on November 16, 1945, with the stated goal of sharing science and technology across the globe to promote health, well-being, and respect for humans right, as well as encourage democratization. UNESCO promotes international co-operation between its 191 member states and six associate members in the fields of education, science, culture and communication.