|   Chinese   |   English   |   Home   |
The 4th Cultural Heritage Day celebrated

June 13 marked China’s fourth Cultural Heritage Day. The theme of this year is to protect cultural heritage and propel scientific development. In order to celebrate it, the Ministry of Culture, Zhejiang Province and Hangzhou Municipal Government organized a joint celebration activity at Yongjin Square, located near the West Lake in Hangzhou.

At the opening ceremony, Shan Jixiang, Director of the State Administration of Cultural Heritage, commended passionately the senior experts for their engagement in China’s cultural heritage and museum work for 30 and 60 years.

Tong Mingkang, Deputy Director of the State Administration of Cultural Heritage, presented them certificates.

Xie Chensheng, on behalf of the senior experts, communicated his opinion on how to better protect the cultural heritage and expressed his determination to give his last measure of devotion to the work.

In addition, a series of consultative campaigns, launched by such collectives as Zhejiang Provincial Museum and China National Silk Museum, drew many Hangzhou citizens’ attention.

Others, who attended the celebration activity, included Wang Guoping, Secretary of Hangzhou Municipal Committee of CPC; Ge Huijun, Vice Governor of Zhejiang Province; Cai Qi, Mayor of Hangzhou; Feng Bosheng, Vice-secretary-general of the People’s Government of Zhejiang Province; Zhang Jianting, Vice Mayor of Hangzhou; Greek, Tajikistan and Ethiopian Ambassadors and envoys from 14 other countries.

In order to promote the Cultural Heritage Day and encourage more people to protect the cultural heritage, the State Administration of Cultural Heritage decided to appoint a city to host celebration activities each year from 2009. At the closing ceremony, Shan Jixiang appointed Suzhou to host 2010 Cultural Heritage Day.

By Xie Fang

  Audio & Video more

  Opinion more
Gears up for ICH protection

  In-Depth more

| About us | E-mail | Contact |
Constructed by Chinadaily.com.cn
Copyright 2003 Ministry of Culture, P.R.China. All rights reserved