Subscribe to free Email Newsletter

  Chinese Way>DoYouKnow

The 8 Great Yanjing Sights

2014-07-16 15:33:02

( By Wu Hao


The Eight Great Sights of Yanjing have been known since the Jin Dynasty (1115-1234). Yanjing (Chinese: 燕京) is and has been an informal name for Beijing, a reference to the ancient State of Yan that existed here during the Zhou Dynasty (about 1100-256 B.C.). The Eight Great Sights of Yanjing are places of historic interest and scenic beauty in and around the capital of China. Each of them has a name in which their particular qualities are summarized in lyrical four character phrases. In 1751, the eight sights were designated by the Emperor Qianlong, with stone tablets erected at each spot, bearing the emperor’s inscriptions.

"Taiyeqiufeng" (Chinese: 太液秋风): Taiye Lake (Now Zhongnanhai) in Autumn Breeze



Zhongnanhai, central headquarters of the Chinese government, was known as Taiye, or the "Great Secretion" during the Qing Dynasty. The open-air pavilion stands on an island surrounded by water amidst the loveliest setting: bright white clouds are reflected on the water; the pavilion rests on the lake like a lotus blossom permeating the air.


We Recommend:
Norwegian envoy proud of modernist home Highlights of Hainan's bikini festival Thousands pay tribute to images of Buddha
1 2 3 4 5