Subscribe to free Email Newsletter

  Info>In Depth
Mo Yan awarded 2012 Nobel Prize in Literature


Winner of the 2012 Nobel Prize for Literature Mo Yan (L2) of China presents his prize during the Nobel Prize award ceremony at the Stockholm Concert Hall in Stockholm December 10, 2012.[Photo/Xinhua]

Chinese writer Mo Yan was awarded 2012 Nobel Prize in Literature in Stockholm Concert Hall in Sweden on Monday, December 10.

The Nobel Prize Award Ceremony for 2012 started at 4.30 p.m. local time (1530 GMT) with the Swedish royal anthem "The King's Song." Mo Yan, dressed in black tailcoat, went slowly up to his seat on the stage with the other Nobel Prize winners.

Marcus Storch, chairman of the Board of Nobel Foundation first addressed the ceremony and welcomed the winners for attending the ceremony in Sweden.

King of Sweden Carl XVI Gustaf awarded Mo Yan the Nobel diploma, medal and a document confirming the prize amount after a representative of the Nobel Prize jury in literature introduced the achievement of Mo Yan in literature.

After that the orchestra at the ceremony presented a part of the "Aladdin Suite" called "Chinese Dance" and the Concert Hall became full of Chinese elements.

2012 Nobel Prize laureates in Physics, Chemistry, Physiology, Medicine and Economics also went up to receive the award from the King. Nobel Prize this year in Physics went to Serge Haroche of France and David J. Wineland from the US Nobel Prize laureates in Chemistry were American scientists Robert J. Lefkowitz and Brian K. Kobilka. Nobel Prize in Physics was won by Shinya Yamanaka from Japan and John B. Gurdon from Britain. Nobel prize in Economics was shared by American economists Alvin E. Roth and Lloyd S. Shapley.

The amount of each Nobel Prize this year was 800 million Swedish kronor (about $114 million).

About 1,500 people attended the Nobel Prize Award Ceremony this year, including members of the royal family of Sweden and Swedish politicians.

Since 1901, the Nobel Prizes have been presented to the Laureates at ceremonies on 10 December which is the anniversary of Alfred Nobel's death.

Special coverage: Nobel laureate in literature Mo Yan

1 2 3