Subscribe to free Email Newsletter

  Chinese Way>DoYouKnow

China's UNESCO Creative Cities

2014-12-16 09:59:13



Recently, three Chinese cities have been designated as part of the UNESCO Creative Cities Network, according to the official website of UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization).

Suzhou and Jingdezhen in East China's Jiangsu and Jiangxi provinces have been designated as "Cities of Craft and Folk Arts". Shunde in South China's Guangdong province has been named the "City of Gastronomy."

The Creative Cities Network was established by the UNESCO in 2004 and includes seven categories (Craft and Folk Arts, Design, Film, Gastronomy, Literature, Media Arts and Music). Aimed at boosting innovation and maintaining cultural diversity, it encourages member cities to share experience in promoting the local heritage, so as to cope with the influx of globalization.

A total of 69 cities from 32 countries worldwide have been listed in the network. Currently, nine Chinese cities are listed on the UNESCO's network. Let’s have a look at them.

Beijing was designated as the "City of Design" in 2012. [Photo by Liu Hongan/]

1 2 3 4 5