Home News Express Historical and Cultural Cities Shanghai Guide Photos & Videos Editors' Picks
Famous Chinese Historical and Cultural Cities

By January 2, 2009, the Chinese government has listed 111 cities as famous Chinese historical and cultural cities under key protection, including the capital cities chosen by the emperors of various dynasties, politically and economically important cities during ancient times, places where important historical events took place, cities enjoying great reputations for their rare cultural relics and historical remains, and those famous for exquisite art works. These preserved cities are a window for people today to review Chinese history. The 111 cities are:

Municipalities directly under the Central Government: Beijing, Tianjin, Shanghai and Chongqing

Hebei Province: Baoding, Chengde, Zhengding,Qin Huangdao and Handan cities

Shanxi Province: Datong City, and Pingyao, Xinjiang, Daixian and Qixian counties

Inner Mongolia Autonomous Region: Hohhot City

Heilongjiang Province: Harbin City

Jilin Province: Jinlin and Ji’an cities

Liaoning Province: Shenyang City

Jiangsu Province: Nanjing, Xuzhou, Huai’an, Zhenjiang, Changshu, Suzhou, Wuxi, Nantong and Yangzhou cities

Zhejiang Province: Hangzhou, Shaoxing, Ningbo, Quzhou, Jinhua and Linhai cities

Fujian Province: Fuzhou, Quanzhou and Zhangzhou cities, and Changting County

Jiangxi Province: Nanchang, Ganzhou and Jingdezhen cities

Anhui Province: Bozhou and Anqing cities, and Shexian, Jixi and Shouxian counties

Shandong Province: Jinan, Qufu, Qingdao, Liaocheng, Zoucheng, Taian and Zibo cities

Henan Province: Zhengzhou, Luoyang, Kaifeng, Anyang, Nanyang,Puyang and Shangqiu cities, and Junxian County

Hubei Province: Wuhan, Jingzhou, Xiangfan, Suizhou,Yibin and Zhongxiang cities

Hunan Province: Changsha and Yueyang cities and Fenghuang County

Guangdong Province: Guangzhou, Chaozhou, Zhaoqing, Foshan, Meizhou and Leizhou cities

Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region: Guilin and Liuzhou cities

Hainan Province: Qiongshan and Haikou cities

Sichuan Province: Chengdu, Zigong, Yibin, Langzhong, Leshan, Dujiangyan and Luzhou cities

Yunnan Province: Kunming and Dali cities, and Lijiang, Jianshui and Weishan counties

Guizhou Province: Zunyi City and Zhenyuan County

Tibet Autonomous Region: Lhasa and Xigaze cities, and Gyangze County

Shaanxi Province: Xi’an, Yan’an, Hancheng, Yulin, Xianyang and Hanzhong cities

Gansu Province: Zhangye, Wuwei, Dunhuang and Tianshui cities

Qinghai Province: Tongren County

Ningxia Hui Autonomous Region: Yinchuan City

Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region: Kashi and Turpan cities and Tekas County

Editor: Feng Hui


Editors' Picks

Here are 10 reasons why you cannot afford to skip Shanghai's $4.2-billion cultural ball.

· Every step he takes
· Navigate Expo
· Interview: Old expo hand has sage advice for Shanghai

The World Expo is a large-scale, global, non-commercial Expo. The hosting of the World Expo must be applied for by a country and approved by the international World Expo committee.

The name of the mascot of World Expo 2010 Shanghai China is Hai Bao, which means the treasure of the sea.

The emblem, depicting the image of three people-you, me, him/her holding hands together, symbolizes the big family of mankind.

The theme of Expo 2010 is "Better City, Better Life," representing the common wish of the whole humankind for a better living in future urban environments.


| About us | E-mail | Contact |
Constructed by Chinadaily.com.cn
Copyright 2009 Ministry of Culture, P.R.China. All rights reserved